Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Tuesday, March 3, 2015

#Review: Stealing Rose by Monica Murphy - 4 Wine Glasses



22544091Title: Stealing Rose 
Series: The Fowler Sisters #2
Author: Monica Murphy 
Format: eBook/Paperback, 336 pages
Published: March 3rd 2015 by Bantam
ISBN: 0553393286
Links: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N
Reviewer: Crystal
Source: Netgalley
Rating: 4 out of 5 Wine Glasses

Perfect for fans of Christina Lauren and Emma Chase—the second novel in New York Times bestselling author Monica Murphy’s sizzling series about three powerhouse sisters and the men who would have their hearts.

People say the youngest child has it easy, but nothing can be further from the truth. Unlike my two sisters, Violet and Lily, I’m never in the limelight. I just work my butt off for Fleur Cosmetics and get little to no thanks for it. I’ve been pushed too far one too many times, and I’m finally brave enough to do something about it.

Maybe my newfound courage has something to do with the amazing pink and white diamond necklace I wear to the party in Cannes. The instant those dazzling heirloom jewels touch my skin, they excite some deep, aching need inside. And when that guy—that totally gorgeous guy—locks eyes with me, I know this nice girl is going to be naughty.

For once it’s my turn. My turn to say no to my father, to outshine my sisters, to walk away from it all—straight into the arms of a mysterious stranger. But what if Caden is much more than I bargained for? Sure, he makes me feel sexy and free in a way I never have before, but there’s something else I can’t quite place—something dangerous. Maybe our “chance” meeting wasn’t so random. Maybe he was looking for me for a reason. Whatever his motive, there’s no going back now.

And maybe I don’t want to. 


Crystal Thoughts:
Stealing Rose is a red-hot romance with an edge of tension, and the sexiest thing I have read all year!

Rose Fowler is the youngest of the Fowler sisters and the most overlooked. Her hard work and dedication has gotten her no where in her family's company, and when an upcoming promotion is rumored to go to her father's conniving new girlfriend, Rose has had enough. Heading to London under the guise of working in her sister Violet's offices, Rose decides to take the time to try and find her place in the world. And whether that place is with Fleur Cosmetics or not. There she begins a whirlwind romance with Caden Kingsley, a virtual stranger but a man Rose is able to simply let go with. He affects her like no other and the one thing she is sure of in her life of turmoil, is him. But Caden is cryptic about his life, and he has the ability to steal more then just her heart. 
When Caden first sees Rose she's just a mark, a way to help support his mother....when he meets her though, he can't deny that she's so much more. A second chance encounter is just the sign Caden needs to explore the chemistry blazing between them, and to renew his goal of getting closer to the diamond necklace that could secure his future. But when their encounters start becoming less about the necklace and more about his feelings for Rose, can Caden give up the only life he's known since he was sixteen? And can he admit his crimes to Rose without loosing her forever? 

Monica Murphy is brilliant at creating an anti-hero that readers can not only relate to, but fall in love with! Sexy, sweet, and such a dirty talker I enjoyed everything about Caden's character. Rose makes Caden want to become a better man for her, but he fears he will never be good enough. *Swoon* Rose herself was a great character as well. A little naive and indecisive but at twenty-two, that's expected. Her character really came into her own towards the end of the story though. Rose and Caden together were down-right HOT. I'm talking don't read in public unless you want to embarrass yourself, have some relief available nearby, and a cold shower on stand-by HOT. This is seriously the hottest book I have read so far this year. The tension between these two is strung tight. They have the physical side of a relationship down but are afraid to move past that, each for their own reasons. The secondary characters in Stealing Rose were interesting. Violet and Ryder are in the story as well, which I enjoyed. 

The plot did move a little slowly at first for me but picked up speed several chapters in. There were a few twists here and there but the outcome of a few...lapses in judgement, was predictable so that little turn of events did not surprise. The ending seemed glossed over, while I did enjoy the happily ever after, I felt some aspects of the story were forgotten. I was also disappointed that the story-line following Rose's father and the nasty Pilar didn't progress further in Stealing Rose

All in all though, this was a great second book for the series and I really enjoyed it. Especially all of the dirty-talking, smoking hot hotel room scenes. Which was about 80% of the book! lol I'm looking forward to Lily's story next. I can't wait to see what happens to the trouble maker of the family and hopefully see Pilar finally get what she deserves! 

   
Reading Order:
Owning Violet (The Fowler Sisters #2) - Review | Amazon 
Stealing Rose (The Fowler Sisters #2)

No comments: