Tuesday, July 1, 2014

Curse of the Phoenix Bundle by Rachel Firasek (Guest Post/Giveaway)

Please give a warm welcome to author Rachel Firasek of CURSE OF THE PHOENIX!

Twisting the Myth

Okay, you got me. I’m horrible at research. Horrible. But…I do have a knack for taking a myth and twisting it just right to suit my purpose for a story. And that’s what I did for The Curse of the Phoenix. 

In ancient Egyptian lore, the phoenix was depicted by the Bennu bird which kind of looked like a big heron. Some stories described a fiery bird that flew into the sun. Others claimed that Osiris was the phoenix and rose from the ashes as a deity. 

It didn’t really matter which myth I read, of any culture, most held true to the idea that the phoenix represented new life. A burning of the old. Everything in full circle. 

So…I ran with that. My lady phoenixes save souls with their deaths and are reborn to start the process again. Their life is not their own. They are unseen-unloved-unforgiven superheroes in their own way. Much of the beauty in mythology is overcoming some horrible plight to rise up and soar. And I believe that I somehow captured this spirit in the stories.  

The phoenix mythos is absolutely beautiful and hopefully will inspire you too if you decide to check out the series. I wonder what it would be like to pick a moment in life and decide that it’s time to go and start over. Have you ever wanted to start fresh? If you had one chance to start fresh and live a whole new life, would you? And why? ☺ I look forward to seeing these answers. 

Curse of the Phoenix Bundle
(Curse of the Phoenix #1-3)
by Rachel Firasek
Ebook, 333 pages
Published June 24th 2014 by Entangled: Edge
Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | ARe ($0.99)
Book One: The Last Rising

After paying two millennia’s penance to Osiris, world-weary Phoenix Ice has had enough. Saving souls without any hope for her own redemption isn’t how she imagined spending eternity. Fed up, she decides her next death will be her last. But when she sacrifices her own life for a sexy Texan in a catastrophic plane crash, she has no idea the consequences will be so great…or that she’ll end up back in his life for her next assignment.

Now that Turner Alcott has survived the worst, finding a wife and mother for his son matters more than ever before. When the mysterious Ice comes into his life, Turner knows she’s the one—but love is the last thing Ice wants. If he wants to win her heart, Turner must teach Ice how to forgive herself, and prove that love is the ultimate sacrifice.

Book Two: The Last Awakening

For three hundred years, Arabella’s life has been one meaningless death after another. In a cruel twist of fate, Osiris gifts the phoenix her mortality and long-gone voodoo magic with a warning that she must save her next soul within a week without using magic, or she’ll lose her power forever.

Ex-soldier Greyson Meadows desperately wants to be freed from the nightmares and guilt that haunt him. Confronted by a waif of a woman who forces him to face the truth about his past, he runs fast and hard, fighting the need to prove himself worthy despite his perceived failures.

When Ari becomes the target of her own magical blunder, the weak will find strength and the strong will fall. One will have to give up everything so the other can have peace, but will love’s magic withstand the loss?

Book Three: The Last Beginning

Though she’s always hated being a phoenix, Sadie has to admit immortality has its advantages. She’s seen and done more in the last 150 years than she’d ever dreamed of, but she can’t get past the fact that Osiris has done nothing but manipulate her and her fellow phoenixes.

Or that, when her last incarnation as a phoenix comes to a fiery end, the fire slowly begins to consume her body.

Sun god Osiris is ashamed of his role as ruler of the Underworld, but he unless he can figure out how to save Sadie, that’s exactly where she’s going to end up. Permanently. Terrified he’s going to lose her, he takes her on a hunt for The Book of the Dead, which is the only way he knows he can save her—even if it means she’ll hate him forever.

Author Bio: 
Rachel Firasek spends her days daydreaming of stories and her nights putting the ideas to ink. She has spent a dull life following the rules, meeting deadlines, and toeing the line, but in her made up worlds, she can let the wild side loose. Her wonderful husband and three children support her love of the written word and only ask for the occasional American Idol or Swamp People quality hour. She has a philosophy about love. It must devastate or it isn’t truly worth loving. She hopes that you all find your devastating love and cling to it with all your heart. After all, romance on the edge is better! http://www.rachelfirasek.com/

Tour Wide Giveaway:
a Rafflecopter giveaway


  1. Thank you! And thanks the RBWBC for having me on! You're awesome as always!

  2. Must add book to my readers list, thanks. Deb P

  3. Love 'omnibus' editions, I can finally get this series off my wishlist and into my ereader. ;)


Due to time constraints we may not be able to personally respond to every comment made, but we do read and appreciate them all. 📚❤️🙂

✋ RBtWBC has a zero-tolerance policy for review harassment and author bashing. Such comments will be deleted at the the blog's discretion.