Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Sunday, April 8, 2012

The HOUSE at TYNEFORD by NATASHA SOLOMONS (Feature/Giveaway)

Hippity, hoppity, happy Easter!
Today RBtWBC is featuring The House at Tyneford by Natasha Solomons. Take a gander below and then be sure to enter the giveaway! 

Selected for the Indie Next List (January 2012)
The HOUSE at TYNEFORD a novel by NATASHA SOLOMONS
Plume; On-sale: 12/27/11; $15.00
978-0-452- 29764-7
Set in a great English country house among the rolling green hills and quaint cottages of England’s Dorset cliffs, Natasha Solomons shares an irresistible story of impossible love during World War II in THE HOUSE AT TYNEFORD (Plume Original; $15.00; January 2012.)   
It’s the spring of 1938 and no longer safe to be a Jew in Vienna. Nineteen year-old Elise Landau realizes her only means of escape is to advertise her services as a domestic servant in England.  Fate brings her ad to the attention of Christopher Rivers, the handsome scion of the aristocratic Rivers family and master of Tyneford.  An anxious Elise arrives at the house and immediately falls under its spell.  When Christopher’s young son, Kit, returns home, the two strike up an unlikely friendship that will change Tyneford—and Elise—forever.
Solomons’ Tyneford was inspired by the real life ‘ghost village’ of Tyneham, situated on one of the most beautiful stretches of England’s coast.  Requisitioned by the British War Office in 1943, the villagers were forced to leave their cottages on Christmas Eve, leaving a note nailed to the church door ‘thank you for treating the village kindly,’ and were never allowed to return.  Her main character, Elise, was inspired by Solomons’ research into the lives of Jewish women—some of whom gave up very privileged lives—to escape Nazi Europe by becoming domestic servants in Britain.  
THE HOUSE AT TYNEFORD is a page-turning tale of family, love, loss, and the power of the human spirit, certain to appeal to fans of Downton Abbey, Upstairs Downstairs and the novels of Kate Morton.    


ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Natasha Solomons is a bestselling novelist and screenwriter.  Originally published in the U.K. to wide praise, THE HOUSE AT TYNEFORD is her second novel.  She lives with her husband in Dorset, England.


www.natashasolomons.com







~*GIVEAWAY*~
We have one copy of The House at Tyneford to give away to one US and Canadian reader. To enter, just leave a meaningful comment on this post and then fill out the RaffleCopter below. Additional entries are available but not required. Good luck!


a Rafflecopter giveaway


10 comments:

bas1chs said...

I have heard such good things about this book including if you love Downton Abbey, you will love this! Well I love Downton :-)
Thanks for the post and giveaway.

rhonda1111 said...

It would be scary to live in england during the war. I would love to visit England countryside,

Na said...

I really enjoy WWII fiction and will add this book on my want to read list. Elise's story sounds mysterious.

Tore said...

Thanks for the giveaway. I can't wait to read this book. Tore923@aol.com

AprilAlvey said...

Thanks for this giveaway i cant wait to read this book.
butterfli262002@yahoo.com

Lexi said...

An interesting time in history, an event that changed so many lives. Hard to imagine what these women went through to have such a nice cushy life and have to give it all up just to live.
Congrats on your release! It sounds very interesting.

Karen C said...

Historical fiction is a relatively new interest for me and The House at Tyneford sounds like an incredible read. Thanks for the giveaway!
k(dot)cherub2011(at)gmail(dot)com

Alexis @ Reflections of a Bookaholic said...

I have this one on audio but I would love the opportunity to read it.

Carrie at In the Hammock Blog said...

this sounds lovely, i just saw an excellent review of this the other day. thank you.

Anita Yancey said...

I love the storyline and setting for this book, it makes for a very interesting read. Thanks for having this giveaway.
ayancey(at)dishmail(dot)net