Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Thursday, December 31, 2015

#Review: Operation White Christmas: An Escape to the Country Novella by Nicki Edwards - 3.5 Wine Glasses






27310895Title: OPERATION WHITE CHRSTIMAS: AN ESCAPE TO THE COUNTRY NOVELLA
Series: Escape to the Country #2.5
Author: Nicki Edwards
Format: Kindle, 153 pages
Published: Momentum (December 17, 2015)
ISBN: ASIN: B0177DK458
Links: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N
Reviewer: Linda
Source: NetGalley
Rating: 3 1/2 out of 5 Wine Glasses

No one expects to find love in the middle of a snowstorm.

Hollie Douglas has always dreamed of a white Christmas: carolers, pudding, chestnuts roasting on an open fire. But in her dreams, she shared that fire's hearth with a husband, and two months before her big day, her fiancé broke her heart and left.

Now, determined to go ahead with her honeymoon anyway, Hollie's plans are going awry. It's the day before Christmas Eve and she is stuck in the middle of a snowstorm in rural Canada. Thankfully, luck is on her side.

When Jim Bell braved a snowstorm to search for one of his orphaned animals, he didn't expect he'd be rescuing a stranded Australian tourist too. A widower, Jim has been dreading another Christmas without his wife, and he wonders if offering the stranded Hollie shelter is something he can bear.
Jim quickly realizes Hollie is carrying as much emotional baggage as him. But as he helps Hollie fulfil her dream of a white Christmas, the winter wonderland and spirit of Christmas may yet work their healing magic on both of them.

A sweet Christmas romance in the tradition of Melissa McClone and Alissa Callen.



Linda's Thoughts
It had been a long time since he'd had a woman wrap her arms around his waist and hang on like her life depended on it. It felt nice. Very nice.

After two months on her own, the touch of a man felt nice. Very nice.

OPERATION WHITE CHRISTMAS was a lovely, sweet contemporary Christmas romance. It was a quick read - one you won't want to put down once you've started. The cover initially drew me to the book; Just looking at it, makes me smile remembering the fun tale within. This was the first time I've ever read anything by Nicki Edwards and I don't plan on it being the last. I want to check out her other books soon.

This was the story of Canadian rancher Jim Bell and Australian nurse Hollie Douglas. The snowy setting was a perfect backdrop to the tale.
As the story opened, Hollie had been set to have the white Christmas honeymoon she'd always dreamed about when her fiancé bailed before their wedding. Her best friend encouraged her to take the trip anyhow because it was all paid for and it would sure beat moping about. Her friend jokingly nicknamed the new trip: Operation Nuptial Nullification. After renaming the trip OPERATION WHITE CHRISTMAS, Hollie began to plan.

The flight from Australia to Canada went well. But from there, things went rapidly downhill. She landed to find that Canada was in the midst of a major winter storm. Hollie wasn't prepared for the cold, her luggage was misplaced, her room had been cancelled by her loser ex-fiancé, and, to top it off, she had an accident and found herself stuck in the middle of nowhere or as she called it the 'woop woop.' To say that OPERATION WHITE CHRISTMAS wasn't going as planned would be putting it mildly.

Then... a man on a snowmobile came to her rescue. Or... did she come to his? You need to read this delightful story to find out!

Following please find a few of my quotes from this read including a snippet from the couple's first kiss under the mistletoe -  which was also one of my favorite scenes:

"There's plenty to do without Steve. You can go to Niagara Falls - obviously - building a snowman, go tobogganing or cross-country skiing, make a snow angel, go ice skating."
Half an hour later Mackenzie had created an entire Operation White Christmas Pinterest board. When she was finished, she sat back, folder her arms across her chest and stared at Hollie with a satisfied grin. "Who said you need a man?"
---

There was no way a mass murderer would own a golden retriever.
---

"Is that mistletoe?"
Jim nodded.
"Cool. We don't have that in Australia."
"So you've never kissed beneath the mistletoe."
She shook her head.
"When in Canada..." His eyes searched hers.
"When in Canada," she repeated softly.
Jim pulled her close, parted his lips slightly, gazed into her eyes and she forgot to breathe. Everything around them fell away. She forgot the people behind her, forgot the crowd in the church, forgot Scumbag Steve. Forgot that it was Christmas and she was in a foreign country about to kiss a stranger. None of it mattered. She gazed into Jim's eyes, losing herself in the soft gray depths.
"May this kiss be the beginning of your Christmas dreams come true," he whispered as he gently pressed his lips into hers.

The hero and heroine were both genuine and likeable. Even though I don't care for cold weather, I do enjoy reading about it. It was a pleasure visiting Canada in the wintertime with Hollie and Jim. Jim was an awesome tour guide and totally swoon worthy. The couple's camaraderie exuded sweet and I laughed over and over at their humorous banter and antics. I would be remiss if I neglected to mention the wonderful supporting characters, including the animals. They all added another level of enjoyment to the tale.

As I read, I learned some Aussie terminology; For instance, did you know that Christmas is referred to as Chrissy in Australia? I highly recommend OPERATION WHITE CHRISTMAS to anyone who enjoys remarkably entertaining Chrissy romances set in a beautiful winter wonderland.


Suggested Reading Order: 
INTENSIVE CARE (Book #1)
EMERGENCY RESPONSE (Book #2)
OPERATION WHITE CHRSTIMAS: AN ESCAPE TO THE COUNTRY NOVELLA (Book # 2.5)
LIFE SUPPORT (Book #3)

1 comment:

Nicki Edwards said...

Thank you for your lovely review. x