Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Thursday, November 13, 2014

#BooKReview: Pushing the Limit by Emmy Curtis - 4.5 Wine Glasses

20980969Title: Pushing the Limit 
Series: Alpha Ops #3
Author: Emmy Curtis
Format:  Ebook/Paperback, 272 pages
Published: November 4th 2014 by Forever Yours
ISBN: 1455530956
Links: Goodreads | Kindle | Amazon | B&N
Source: NetGalley
Reviewer: Crystal
Rating: 4.5/5

They’re tough. They’re brave. And they’ll do anything for the women they love. They’re the Alpha Ops. In the tradition of Suzanne Brockmann and Julie Ann Walker comes a sizzling new high-octane romantic suspense novel from rising star Emmy Curtis.

After their one-night fling at a wedding, archaeologist Henrietta “Harry” Markowitz thought she’d never see war hero Matt Stanning again. So when they’re paired up to investigate a military plane crash in Iraq, she’s not sure if the three-month reunion is serendipitous or cursed. What she does know is this gorgeous man lights her body on fire—and incredible sex is always a welcome distraction.

Air Force Sergeant Matt Stanning has been called a hero, but he feels nothing like one when he realizes the sexy blonde in his bed is the widow of his fallen brother-in-arms. Even worse, he actually has to work with her, and she’s unearthed evidence that points to a military conspiracy. If they dig deeper, they’ll put their lives in danger. If they don’t, they’ll never know the truth—not only about the mysterious plane crash, but about each other.

Crystal's Thoughts:
First off I have to give it to the Forever Yours art department. Because that cover? That cover! Do you see this man? Taunt, tan skin. Dark scruff. Chiseled jaw line. Those arms. Those abs! And the colors contrast well. I would read this book based on the cover alone.  Now onto the story...

Archaeologist Henrietta “Harry” Markowitz and Air Force Sergeant Matt Stanning shared one sizzling night together at a friend's wedding (Over the Line) but never expected to see each other again. That hasn't stopped them from replaying that night over and over again in their heads though... When a special military team is called in to examine a possible military plane crash on one of Harry's dig sites, they are both stunned and thrilled to see each other again. But those feelings soon to turn dismay and guilt when Matt learns that Harry is the widowed wife of a friend who was killed in action. However, that's the least of their worries when they discover a possible military cover up and government conspiracy. Dodging danger, and the passion that ignites around them, Harry and Matt must piece together this mystery before whoever is behind it catches up to them and before their hearts cross the line of no return. 

Action, intrigue, military heroes, a smart heroine, and a slow-burning but passionate romance is just some of what you'll find in Emmy Curtis' Pushing the Limit.  The Alpha Ops is a series that has gotten better and better with each new release and I am absolutely loving it, and this new author. Each book makes for a well-rounded stand alone as well, with a contained story centering on the H/h. The writing is imaginative and descriptive with easily relatable characters and a well paced plot. There are also some emotional moments centered on the military aspect of the story that caused me to become teary eyed but made me empathize with the story that much more. The romance was slow to build because of some inner conflict but there was no denying the chemistry Matt and Harry shared nor the hotness when they did succumb to it. 

All in all, Pushing the Limits was a superb military romance and Emmy Curtis' Alpha Ops is one of my favorite new series of the year! A recommended read for 2014! 


Review of previous books in the series:
Dangerous Territory (Book One)
Over the Line (Book Two)


No comments: