Monday, July 6, 2015

#Review: Delirium by Erin Kellison - 4.5 Wine Glasses

24346718Title: Delirium 
Series: Reveler #6
Author: Erin Kellison
Format: Kindle Edition, 100 pages
Published: January 6th 2015 by Fire Flower Publishing, LLC
Links: Goodreads | Amazon 
Reviewer: Linda
Source: Netgalley
Rating: 4.5 out of 5 Wine Glasses

As the new Darkside Division head, Marshal Harlen Fawkes has a target on his back, and the Oneiros are taking their best shot. To complicate matters, a mercenary has been hired to infiltrate Maze City, jeopardizing the one safe place left in the dreamwaters. Harlen’s allies are divided while covering different fronts, but that means their collective strength is divided, too. 

If I die before I wake… 

Summoning her courage, Sera must face the harsh Scrape winds to add her strength to Harlen’s fight. But nothing can combat the forces rising in the deep as they finally make their move. Danger comes from all sides at once, leaving Harlen no choice but to use the woman he loves as a proxy to penetrate the Black Market. And yet doing so leaves them utterly vulnerable, adrift in the sands, as nightmares descend. 

Delirium is the sixth installment in the Reveler serial, a hot paranormal romance set in a world where shared dreaming is a new pop culture phenomenon that allows people to indulge their wildest fantasies. But there are also unknown dangers Darkside; nightmares are slowly infiltrating not only dreams, but the waking world as well.

Linda's Thoughts:
"Has anyone else here seen or fought a nightmare?"
Marshal Spence Neumann lifted his head. "Seen one. Swear to God it looked like my ex-wife for a second."
A chuckle rumbled within the group. Someone mumbled, "She was a nightmare."

DELIRIUM by Erin Kellison is the sixth novella in her addictive Reveler series. Oh my! This one grabbed me from the get-go and primarily features returning favorite characters, Marshal Harlen Fawkes as always, outfitted in his duster. and Chef Sera. There's chaos everywhere with the feeling that things couldn't get any worse ...  but, of course, they can. 

Steve is still missing, the Oneiros are wreaking havoc and will stop at nothing to further their cause. Harlen's family is being targeted and a mercenary hired by the Senator is hunting Vincent and Mirren. Harlen, as the new head of the Darkside division, is doing everything he can to regain control, but with nightmares popping up everywhere and not knowing who to trust, his efforts seem futile. 

I'm glad to see that Harlen and Sera have reconnected and that Sera has returned stronger and more self-assured. I loved the backbone she exhibited in this book! The only Darkside refuge left is Maisie's Maze City; I hope it remains that way, but I have a bad feeling trouble with a capital T is over the horizon for it too.

A year ago, I read books one thru three in the series and I've not been able to forget the story or the characters so I recently binge-read books four through seven. The stories are still as obsession-inducing as they were a year ago. This is an original, dark series set in a complicated, futuristic world. You can expect each to include scenes of heated passion, lots of suspense and humorous segments that appear when needed. Each installment is novella-length and there's always a cliffhanger at the end that will knock you for a loop and make you crave the next book right then. 

I would highly recommend that these novellas be read in order as there is a rather involved continuing storyline and interconnected characters who figure prominently in each book. Each of the books begins where the book before left off. At the very least, the first book, DARKNESS FALLS, should be a required prerequisite as it contains essential background information about Reves, i.e., shared dreamscapes, and introduces many of the characters. 

Following please find a few favorite quotes from this book:

If she couldn't be with Harlen in Washington, DC, this was the place to be.
Sera's mobile screen lit, and she glanced down to find a text from him: I have to pee.

"Sleep," he commanded. 
"You need to rest after being jumped."
"You could jump me."

Fucking unicorns wouldn't be hard to chase, as they'd probably stay in roughly the same spot while they, you know, fuck."

"You can't bluff your way past everyone."
"You mean about filleting that guy?" Sera returned.
"Who said I was bluffing?"

This series is fantastic! Thank goodness, book seven, THE SANDMAN, is already loaded and ready to go on my reader! I highly recommend this series to anyone who enjoys intense, fast-paced paranormal urban fantasies with lots of action! 

Recommended reading order:
DARKNESS FALLS - Purchase | Review 
LAY ME DOWN - Purchase | Review 
DARKSIDER - Purchase | Review  
NIGHT'S DEEP HUSH - Purchase | Review 
BRING ME A DREAM - Purchase | Review
DELIRIUM - Purchase 
THE SANDMAN - Purchase

No comments:

Post a Comment

Due to time constraints we may not be able to personally respond to every comment made, but we do read and appreciate them all. 📚❤️🙂

✋ RBtWBC has a zero-tolerance policy for review harassment and author bashing. Such comments will be deleted at the the blog's discretion.