Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Sunday, November 9, 2014

#BookReview: Stripping Her Defenses by Jessie Lane - 5 Wine Glasses




17878474Title: Stripping Her Defenses 
Series: Ex Ops #2
Author: Jessie Lane
Format: ebook
Published: November 4th 2014 by Whiskey Girls Publishing 
Links:  Goodreads | Amazon | B&N
Source: Author
Reviewer: Crystal
Rating: 5/5
Ex Ops Series: Second Chance Romance with a hint of Suspense

He can't change the scars on her body...but fate will give him a second chance to mend the scars he put on her heart.

Riley Sullivan and the Ex Ops Team are headed to Miami undercover… as bikers. Following up a lead, the men will perform their investigation acting as members of the Regulators Motorcycle Club with the club’s permission. Surrounded by hardcore bikers and investigating missing strippers, Riley finds the last person he ever expected to see again—his ex-wife.

Kara Sullivan left the man she loved after a tragic accident cost them their unborn son. After years of therapy, she’s come to grips with the loss and has re-emerged from the pain a brand new person. That doesn’t mean she’s ready to face the man who inadvertently broke her heart, and who she’s hurt in return.

Riley has never stopped loving her and he never will. He’s ready to fix their marriage and move on with their lives, however Kara’s reluctance to renew their relationship isn’t their only problem. Danger lurks just around the corner… and there’s a chance she could disappear permanently. 


Thoughts:
STRIPPING HER DEFENSES Blew. Me. Away! I liked this one even better then the first book, SECRET MANEUVERS. The characters were engaging, the pacing perfection, and the story-line was dynamic. This is Jessie Lane's best work yet! 

Riley Sullivan gave his life to the Navy and inadvertently lost his family because of it. Now, years later, he belongs to the Ex Ops Team and they are in the midst of taking down a notorious sex trade operation. But to do so they must go undercover and work side-by-side with a gang of bikers. The last person he expected to see in the gang's Miami strip club was his long lost ex-wife. But when Riley does, he knows that he's not letting her go again. 
Kara Sullivan left a life of loneliness and depression when she fled her husband, but she also left with a pile of guilt, hurt, and her heart in pieces. After years of therapy she has found a way to take charge of her life and control her depression but Kara knows there will never be another man for her. When Riley appears in the club she is working at she is at first shocked, but knows that her time of reckoning has arrived. Will she be able to keep her heart shielded from the only man who has ever laid claim to it? Or will the danger that brought Riley here to begin with steal any possibility of a second chance? 

Wow! Stripping Her Defenses was an emotional roller coaster rife with exciting peaks and heart wrenching lows - I never wanted to get off! Kara and Riley were high school sweethearts who despite their deep love for each other, lost their way for a time. It was impossible not to empathize with Kara from the beginning. No one should have to go through the devastation that Kara did, and to experience that alone would break anyone. But Kara was able to forge through and in the end, come out a better person. She was a strong, caring heroine that I loved. Riley was frustratingly male at the beginning of the story but once he see's Kara again that sexy alpha male emerges to the forefront of his character and all I can say is, it is HOT! Neither Kara, nor Riley, are the same people they were when they were first together. But  that doesn't change the fact that they still love each other, and always will. As they re-learn each other, not only does sizzling eroticism surround them but so does danger. The author balances the action with the romance wonderfully, so that the plot moves at a steady, fast past that will keep you turning the pages.

Stripping Her Defenses works incredibly well as a stand-alone. Enough back-story is provided that you don't feel lost in the series arc and the book is very well centered on the second-chance romance between Riley and Kara. Stripping Her Defenses also introduces us to some characters that we'll see more of in a brand new spin-off series, Regulators MC. Which from what I've seen of those characters here, sounds incredibly promising!  

Fans of Maya Banks and Catherine Mann are sure to enjoy Jessie Lane's latest offering. If you're looking for a story full of passion and action, you won't want to miss Stripping Her Defenses

No comments: