Friday, January 5, 2018

4 Wine Glass #Review of A Chieftain's Wife by Leigh Ann Edwards

35892089Title:  A Chieftain’s Wife
Series: The Irish Witch Series: Book 4
Author: Leigh Ann Edwards
Format: Kindle, 298 pages
Published: August 28, 2017 (Tule Publishing)
Links: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N
Reviewer: Linda
Source: NetGalley
Rating: 4 out of 5 Wine Glasses

As Alainn and Killian O'Brien begin their married life together, Alainn encounters many new and unexpected challenges. Stricken by the disturbing, reoccurring vision of Killian's death, she desperately seeks a way to prevent it from happening. In hope of providing a normal life for their unborn child Alainn turns from her own magical abilities, but soon realizes that doing so may endanger everyone she cares for.

Set in 16th century Ireland, A Chieftain's Wife continues the captivating story of Alainn and Killian's passionate love. Past indiscretions, deep jealousy, a vindictive witch, and tragic hardships all threaten to disrupt Killian and Alainn's happiness and future together.

Linda's Thoughts:
“You can't mean to dance with the lass; she's great with child!"
Killian smiled broadly at this. "Aye, well, I do indeed intend to dance with her and, aye, I'm aware she carries a child!" He leaned closer to the woman and whispered as he spoke the next bit, "I'm the man who planted the seed!"
"Och!" The woman's ruddy colored cheeks darkened further and she huffed aloud, her continued disapproval evident, so Killian baited her and pushed the issue further still.
"And were all your six daughters a product of immaculate conception, then, Maire, or were they created in the usual way?” 

A Chieftain’s Wife by Leigh Ann Edwards continues the wonderfully engaging saga of Irish witch Alain and noble Chieftain Killian. It is the fourth installment in The Irish Witch series, a magical romantic fantasy set in sixteenth century Ireland featuring witches, a swoony hero and evil forces! This book picks up right where the prior book (The Chieftain’s Daughter) ended and is just as addictive as the previous installments.

In this segment, Alain is doing her best not to utilize her powers, but, between her pregnancy and the extreme stress she’s under, she has less control over them so they tend to exhibit despite her intentions. Also, since she’s not using magic, it puts her in more danger from the dark. Unfortunately, the dark’s onslaught against Alain is becoming stronger, yet when Alain voices her concerns to Killian, he doesn’t give credence to her alarm.

Adding to the drama, Killain’s former lover has taken up residence in the castle as Killain feels responsible for the tragic loss of her husband. Alain is insanely jealous even as she grows larger with Killian’s child.  Will their relationship survive the progressive onslaught of evil? Their love and trust in each other are sorely tested herein.

Following please find a few of my favorite quotes from A Chieftain’s Wife:

“I swear the man could seduce the holy mother!” 

“No more shall the birds or the beasts seek to harm me,
From the power that has held them, they will henceforth be set free
And should another such attempt dare come to be
The doer of the spell shall be so cursed ten-fold, plus three!” 

“As she glanced down at the great distance to the ground below, she whispered in his ear, "You have obviously taken the heights of passion to an entirely new level, Killian O'Brien!” 

This series will consist of seven books with four having been released so far. I inhaled the first four in less than three days and am anxiously waiting for the fifth which is releasing January 2018! This is a series you should read in order. The books are engrossing reads and you won’t want to miss one enchanting moment. Do yourself a favor, start from the beginning and read it sequentially. You won’t be sorry!

A Chieftain’s Wife is teeming with magic. It is well-plotted and beautifully written. The romance is steamy and epic. A Chieftain’s Wife is the darkest to-date in this series and involves more theatrics and angst than the prior books. Each book in this series has ended with a cliffhanger which hasn’t been a big deal before now since the next book was always available. That said, this book contains the cruelest cliffhanger so far. Thankfully, the next book, A Witch’s Life, is being released in January 2018! I’ve lowered my rating by one because this cliffhanger was particularly brutal. If you enjoy historical romantic fairy tales, I’d highly recommend that you check out The Irish Witch series!

Suggested Reading Order: 
The Farrier’s Daughter (Book #1)
The Witch’s Daughter (Book #2)
The Chieftain’s Daughter (Book #3)
A Chieftain’s Wife (Book #4)
A Witch’s Life (Book #5) – January 2018!
A Witch’s Quest (Book #6) – Estimated March/April 2018!
A Witch’s Destiny (Book #7) – The Conclusion! Estimated mid-2018!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Due to time constraints we may not be able to personally respond to every comment made, but we do read and appreciate them all. 📚❤️🙂

✋ RBtWBC has a zero-tolerance policy for review harassment and author bashing. Such comments will be deleted at the the blog's discretion.