Friday, September 25, 2015

#Review: Scrape by Erin Kellison - 4 Wine Glasses

26517614Title: Scrape
Series: Reveler #8
Author: Erin Kellison
Format: ebook
Published: September 16th 2015 by Fire Flower Publishing, LLC
Links: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N
Reviewer: Linda
Source: Author
Rating: 4 out of 5 Wine Glasses

The last battle will be a nightmare…

The Sandman has broken through to the waking world, bringing with Him a monster of a storm. Mirren Lambert and Vince Blackman set out to force him back into his own realm, while Malcolm Rook and Jordan Lane are cornered by an old enemy intent on revenge. They learn that there are no rules when fighting for the ones you love.

In the midst of the chaos, Harlen Fawkes is charged with finding a way to make dreaming safe again. As nightmares lurk in the fringes, waiting to attack, he is driven to a bold decision that will change the world Darkside forever. All the while, his heart is with Sera—will the love of his life ever wake again?

Steve Coll must come to grips with his altered nature. His passion for Maisie Lane transcends the darkness, and he becomes both a fearsome nightmare and the hero humanity so desperately needs. Armed with hope and love, he strikes out to defeat a powerful god. But will it be enough? Or has dreaming just become too dangerous?

Scrape is the eighth and final installment in the Reveler serial, a hot paranormal romance set in a world where shared dreaming is a new pop culture phenomenon that allows people to indulge their wildest fantasies. But there are also unknown dangers Darkside; nightmares are slowly infiltrating not only dreams, but the waking world as well. And behind them all is a shadowy entity called the Sandman.

Revel with me. 

Linda's Thoughts:
His dad's eyes were getting darker. "How bad is it really?"
Very bad. Too many fronts to fight.
Bur for starters...
"That big storm out east?" Jordan and Rook had gone to investigate... "That's the Sandman in the waking world."
His dad frowned deeply. He shook his head and shrugged. "I don't know what that means."
Yeah, well... "Neither do we."

SCRAPE by Erin Kellison is the bittersweet finale of her Reveler series. I can honestly say that I've enjoyed each installment and am happy, but saddened, that the series has now concluded. What a wild ride this series has treated readers to! Everything wraps up in SCRAPE, though the bow is not as pretty for some favorite characters as it is for others.

This is the eighth installment in Erin's Reveler series. In my opinion, there is no way you can plunge into this book without having read the previous seven books. You would be hopelessly lost. This is not a big deal. Just grab all the books, be grateful that they're all now available, and delve in. You won't be sorry. There's nothing like some serious binge reading and this is a series that is meant to be devoured.

SCRAPE picks up right where THE SANDMAN ended with multiple devastating cliffhangers. At the end of THE SANDMAN, utter chaos ruled. The situation was beyond dire. The Sandman had arrived dayside. Nightmares were everywhere. Oneiros had infiltrated and trusting anyone was impossible. Coll had died. David was AWOL. Sera was in a coma after having been shot. Maisie's city was under attack. AND it's going to get worse.

All our favorite characters - including Jordan, Rook, Coll, Maisie, Harlen, Sera, Vince, Mirren, and David- make an appearance as their services are all needed to fight the Sandman and his followers, save innocent Revelers and provide closure. Don't worry that you will be able to guess what will happen beforehand, as Erin still has a multitude of surprising twists and turns up her sleeve that will turn her readers' worlds upside-down and inside-out.

Following please find a few of my favorite quotes:

"If anyone comes, shoot first, ask questions later."

"He's a nightmare," she said.
"I can be, too." Rook answered, his red eyes glowing. "Just try me."

"There is no reason for any of this if we don't survive."
Vince reached out and ran a hand through her long hair. "Ah, love. That's where you're wrong. As long as we do what we're meant to do, it doesn't really matter if we survive or not."

SCRAPE is an epic conclusion to this apocalyptic story that has spanned eight novellas. Thankfully, there's no more fretting and hair-pulling until the next novella is available. I highly recommend this series to anyone who enjoys highly original, dark, edgy paranormal tales with cool characters and steamy fireworks.

Recommended reading order:
DARKNESS FALLS - Purchase | Review 
LAY ME DOWN - Purchase | Review 
DARKSIDER - Purchase | Review  
NIGHT'S DEEP HUSH - Purchase | Review 
BRING ME A DREAM - Purchase | Review
DELIRIUM - Purchase Review
THE SANDMAN - Purchase | Review

No comments:

Post a Comment

Due to time constraints we may not be able to personally respond to every comment made, but we do read and appreciate them all. 📚❤️🙂

✋ RBtWBC has a zero-tolerance policy for review harassment and author bashing. Such comments will be deleted at the the blog's discretion.