Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Wednesday, July 22, 2015

Q&A with Sherri Browning of The Great Estate (#Giveaway)




Perfect for fans of Downton Abbey, the third in Sherri Browning’s Thornbrook Park series, The Great Estate, comes out this August! To celebrate her new release, Sherri’s agreed to answer some questions for us about herself and her career as an author.

The story takes place in the Edwardian era. What are some of the challenges you face when writing a love scene in a different time period?

The clothes! Darn corsets were still in my way when I was trying to put my characters in intimate situations in which they had to act quickly or lose the moment.  It’s not easy to be quick about things when wearing a corset. Unless you leave the corset on. But is that as comfortable or romantic? I suppose it depends on the situation.




24296607The Great Estate 
(Thornbrook Park #3)
by Sherri Browning
Mass Market Paperback, 352 pages
Expected publication: August 4th 2015 by Sourcebooks Casablanca
ISBN 1402286856
If you're a fan of Downton Abbey, don't miss the fascinating Edwardian world of Thornbrook Park.
Pulled apart by past mistakes...

Sophia Thorne was young and inexperienced when she married the dashing Earl of Averford . . . and through dark and troubled times, their relationship nearly came to an end. Now she's determined to transform herself into the fiery, ardent lover she always wanted to be, giving them a second chance at love . . . before they're lost to each other forever.

Driven by a passion neither could deny...

It took nearly losing Sophia for Gabriel to realize he had allowed his love for his great estate to distract him from his beautiful wife. But that time is over. Despite all the obstacles standing in their way, Gabriel vows to teach Sophia what it is to truly love . . . and to be loved by a husband devoted heart and soul to her every desire.




Excerpt:

Thornbrook Park. A warm wave of pride filled him at the sight as Dale drove them up the winding way. The chimneys appeared first over the crest of the hill, followed by the slate roof, and finally the rose stone facade. How could he have stayed away so long?  
 Sophia wouldn’t be expecting him. He planned to surprise her, perhaps persuade Finch not to even announce his return. He would simply appear at the dinner hour, dressed to the nines, and act as if he had been there the entire time. Darling, I believe the quail is cooked perfectly, but not quite the same as when I shoot it myself… No, it wouldn’t do. She hated it when he left her alone to go off hunting. He’d always known it, but he couldn’t seem to give it up. Old habits. In truth, he couldn’t wait to get his boots on, the good English ones he’d left behind, take up his rifle, and stomp off into the woods. His woods. Alas, there would be no more hunting. At least, not as frequently, and certainly not right away. Not until he was certain that he wouldn’t upset Sophia further. Not until she forgave him.
Perhaps he could suggest other activities that they could do together? His brow shot up. He knew just what activities he had in mind, but they would have to work up to that. Slowly. He meant to court her properly, one step at a time.
“Now, Dale, I don’t want a fuss,” he said. “It’s good to be home but no need for a celebration. I mean to slip in quietly.”




And don't miss the first two Thornbrook Park Romances! 



About the Author:
Sherri Browning writes historical and contemporary romance fiction, sometimes with a paranormal twist. She is the author of critically acclaimed classic mash-ups Jane Slayre and Grave Expectations. A graduate of Mount Holyoke College, Sherri has lived in western Massachusetts and Greater Detroit Michigan, but is now settled with her family in Simsbury, Connecticut. Find her online at www.sherribrowningerwin.com.



Tour-Wide Giveaway:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

8 comments:

jodi marinich said...

i would love the regency period

Sue G. said...

I'd like to stay in the present time period. I can't imagine going back to when there were not many of the conveniences we have.

Rita said...

I think I would have liked to live in the 1800's

Di said...

I'd love to visit the early 1900's and see my grandparents as young adults, but I'd want to live now with all the modern conveniences.

erin said...

as long as I could come back to present time, I'd love to visit ancient Rome and Egypt :) thanks for sharing!

Glenda said...

I love modern conveniences. I'd love to visit lots of time periods -- I need a time machine. :-)

Carol L. said...

As long as I could return anytime I wanted I'd visit Regency era.
Thanks for the giveaway chance.
Carol L
Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

Linda said...

I would love to visit a whole range of time periods but I wouldn't want to stay permanently. Can't imagine doing w/o our modern conveniences.