Friday, July 5, 2013

Series Review: Shadow Series by Erin Kellison - 5 Wine Glasses!

Shadow Series by Erin Kellison

Shadow Bound 
(Shadow #1)
by Erin Kellison 
Purchased by Reviewer
Mass Market Paperback, 1st edition, 322 pages
Published June 29th 2010 by Leisure
ISBN 0505528290 
GoodreadsAmazon KindleBarnes & Noble
Death... Some people will do anything to avoid it. Even trade their immortal souls for endless existence.
Wraiths... Secretly, inexorably, they are infiltrating our world, sucking the essence out of unsuspecting victims with their hideous parody of a kiss.
Segue... Adam Thorne founded the Institute to study and destroy his monster of a brother, but the key to its success is held in the pale, slender hand of a woman on the run. There is something hauntingly different about Talia O’Brien, her unknowing sensuality, her uncanny way of slipping into Shadow.
Twilight... This is the place between life and what comes after—a dark forest of fantasy, filled with beauty, peril, mystery. And Talia is about to open the door.

Shadow Fall 

(Shadow #2)
by Erin Kellison
Purchased by Reviewer
Mass Market Paperback, 322 pages
Published July 27th 2010 by Leisure
ISBN 0505528304 
GoodreadsAmazon KindleBarnes & Noble
Custo Santovari accepted pain, blood, even death, to save his best friend. But a man with all his sins just isn't cut out to be an angel.
One moment he's fleeing Heaven; the next, he's waking up stark naked in Manhattan. In the middle of a war. Called there by a woman who's desperately afraid of the dark.
It gathers around Annabella as she performs, filled with fantastic images of another world, bringing both a golden hero and a nightmare lover.
He pursues her relentlessly, twisting her desires even as she gives herself to the man she loves. Because each of us has a wild side, and Annabella is about to unleash the beast.


(Shadow #3)
by Erin Kellison 
Purchased by Reviewer
Mass Market Paperback, 356 pages
Published September 6th 2011 by Kensington Books
ISBN 142011896X 
GoodreadsAmazon KindleAmazon PaperbackBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository 
GhostsThey haunt the halls of the Segue Institute, terrifying the living, refusing to cross over. But one soul is driven by a very different force.
LoveIt survives even death. And Kathleen O'Brien swore she would return to those she was forced to leave too soon.
ShadowmanHe broke every rule to have her in life; now he will defy the angels to find her in death.
The GateForging it is his single hope of being reunited with his beloved, but through it an abomination enters the world. Leaving a trail of blood and violence, the devil hunts her too. Pursued through realms of bright fantasy and dark reality, Kathleen is about to be taken.

Crystal's Thoughts:
Wow, what can I say about Erin Kellison's fabulous Shadow series? It's unique, it's catchy, and it's like M&M's. You won't be able to read just one without devouring the whole shebang! With an ensnaring blend of fantasy and paranormal, a touch of fairy tale magic, and romances that transcend time, the author weaves together a series of stories that will blow you away. They did me at least. 

Shadow and Twilight, this is where the Fae reside. They should never cross into the human realm and humans only enter theirs when passing. But when one Fae breaks the rules, the entire world will be forever changed.  
The first book, Shadow Bound, introduces a haunting tale of forbidden love that is doomed from the start. Composed like a dream...or a nightmare. From this tragedy emerges Talia O’Brien, someone who should not exist, an impossibility with unknown potential. But with light, also  comes darkness. Wraiths; immortal creatures without a soul that feed off unsuspecting humans. To stop these monsters Segue was created by Adam Thorne. Adam believes that Talia is his key to stopping the Wraiths. Little does he know that she is the key to so much more. 

In Shadow Fall the war between the Wraiths and Humans continue. Adam's friend whose life was lost in the fight returns, but he's not the same. Custo Santovari returns to the human realm on a mission to protect his best friend, Adam. On his way back however, he finds a beautiful ballerina dancing on the outskirts of the Shadowlands. But he is not the only creature who is captured by her allure...

Shadowman. From the first book, Shadow Bound, I fell in love with the tragedy of Shadowman and his human lover. Shadowman has gone to the end of the earth and all its realms looking for his love, Kathleen. And now he is taking on hell... Shadowman will literally sweep you off your feet and have you falling into a puddle of swoon. This book is where everything comes together. All of those questions and curiosities from book one are finally answered, and Shadowman finally gets his story. Kathleen is not in hell, but it is too late for Shadowman to stop the events he has set into motion by looking for her. Instead he finds his love on earth, reincarnated as Layla, and she doesn't remember him or their daughter...

Erin Kellison has a poetic voice that will instantly captivate you and pull you into this dark and original world she has created. The twists that she puts on the Fae, Angel, and Demon mythologies,  and Death himself, is enough to capture any readers attention. But with the added action of war between humans and wraith, the suspense between the characters and their future,  the seemingly hopeless romances and the fast pacing, the Shadow Series quickly became an all-time favorite for me.
These books will be like unlike anything else you have ever read! If you loved reading fairy tales as a child then you will adore Erin Kellison's dark adult versions of your favorite fairy tales. I am looking forward to starting on the spin-off to this series, Shadow Kissed, asap! 

A 5 Wine Glass Series!



  1. I adore this series. Her other two series set in the same world are just as good!!! I adore her writing, it is poetic and beautiful. Yeah, I'm a fan girl

  2. OK, you won me, I've just put it on my list ;)


Due to time constraints we may not be able to personally respond to every comment made, but we do read and appreciate them all. 📚❤️🙂

✋ RBtWBC has a zero-tolerance policy for review harassment and author bashing. Such comments will be deleted at the the blog's discretion.