Friday, May 11, 2018

3 Wine Glass #Review of A Witch's Quest by Leigh Ann Edwards


37905286Title:  A Witch’s Quest
Series: Irish Witch #6
Author: Leigh Ann Edwards
Format: Kindle (352 pages)
Published: March 21, 2018 (Tule Publishing)
Links: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N
Reviewer: Linda
Source: NetGalley
Rating: 3 out of 5 Wine Glasses

The spell-binding story of Alainn and Killian O’Brien’s love continues with passion, danger, and adventure in store for the young lovers in the riveting tale of A Witch’s Quest.

Attempting to flee England and the untrustworthy king, as well as the dark demon and those bound to him, proves exceedingly difficult and creates further dire consequences. Together, the beautiful and magical young, Alainn and her courageous and ever-faithful, protective husband, Killian encounter a perilous storm at sea, a devastating disease, and the results of an evil blade cursed by the unrelenting demon. Once again, Alainn must face the harsh reality that her powerful magic cannot ensure happiness or protect all those she cares for.

Linda's Thoughts:
The final battle between good and evil draws near!

A Witch’s Quest is the sixth installment in Leigh Ann Edwards’ addictive Irish Witch series, a magical fantasy saga set in sixteenth century Ireland featuring witches, a swoony hero, an evil curse, Celtic gods, spirits, demons and fairies. This book picks up exactly where the previous book, A Witch’s Life, left off with Alainn injured and in a coma and Killian imprisoned in the King’s tower.

This is a series that should be read in order. Each installment has incrementally built towards the coming final battle between good and evil. The author does fill in the basics of what has transpired previously, but I cannot imagine not reading the series sequentially.

In A Witch’s Quest, the battle between good and evil is becoming increasingly more desperate. Discerning who is good and who is evil is impossible. In this installment, Alainn wakes from her coma, but remains a prisoner of King Henry, whose court is pervaded by evil. In desperation, she takes extreme measures to obtain the release of Killian and other Irish being held in the King’s tower. Regardless, their safe passage to Ireland is not assured. The dark are becoming more powerful while the Celtic gods who champion Alainn’s cause, seem to be focused on testing Alainn for the impending trial.

The couple’s love, passion and trust in each other continue to grow. Unfortunately, this book seems to bog down in England. It’s the first book in this series that I struggled with. While I still enjoyed it overall, this was my least favorite installment of the series. The series will conclude with the next book, A Witch’s Destiny. I’m looking forward to the conclusion of this series now that the couple is back in Ireland. Alainn’s magical abilities will need to be strong and focused for the light to prevail. A Witch’s Destiny released last month and it’s already queued on my reader!

Suggested Reading Order: 
The Farrier’s Daughter (Book #1)
The Witch’s Daughter (Book #2)
The Chieftain’s Daughter (Book #3)
A Chieftain’s Wife (Book #4)
A Witch’s Life (Book #5)
A Witch’s Quest (Book #6)
A Witch’s Destiny (Book #7) – The Conclusion!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Due to time constraints we may not be able to personally respond to every comment made, but we do read and appreciate them all. 📚❤️🙂

✋ RBtWBC has a zero-tolerance policy for review harassment and author bashing. Such comments will be deleted at the the blog's discretion.