Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Thursday, August 4, 2016

4.5 Wine Glass #Review for Dare to Stay by Jen McLaughlin





27416944Title: Dare to Stay
Series: The Sons of Steel Row #2
Author: Jen McLaughlin
Format: Kindle Edition, 336 pages
Publication: August 2nd 2016 by Signet
ASINB: 01839Q530
Links: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N
Source: Netgalley/Publisher
Reviewer:Crystal
Rating: 4.5 out of 5 Stars

Fans of Katie Ashley, Joanna Wylde, Kristen Ashley, Sophie Jackson and Katee Robert will be thrilled by this dark, steamy series, from the New York Times bestselling author of the Out of Line novels, where one gang of criminals knows just how being bad can be so good...

Bruised and bloodied on Boston's mean streets, Chris O'Brien is reeling from the loss of his childhood best friend. But after barely escaping a hit placed on his head, Chris is desperate to live. A safe haven comes to mind - the home of the perfect girl from his childhood, Molly Lachlan. Before he has fully considered what it would mean to involve her in his mess, he finds himself on her doorstep.

When Molly agrees to let Chris inside her home, she realizes she's also letting him into her life. Danger and desperation are coming off him like steam, and yet she can't bring herself to turn him away. His bad boy charm always had a hold on her, but now there's a soulfulness and sorrow in him that she's never seen before. And despite the heart-stopping risk of helping him, she hopes against all reason that he'll stay...

The stakes are dangerously high...and the passion is seriously intense. Follow the exploits of the Sons of Steel Row in Dare To Run and Dare To Stay. 


Crystal's Thoughts:
Jen McLaughlin delivers another captivating tale from the Sons of Steel Row, in Dare to Stay!

We first met Chris O'Brien in Dare to Run as Lucas' best-friend. He wasn't the most lovable of characters. In fact, he was one of the villains of the story. So how do you turn a villain into a hero? Give Jen McLaughlin a pen, or perhaps a keyboard in this case. ☺ With riveting suspense and searing romance, readers are swept back into the mean and dirty streets of Boston's Steel Row. Chris is left shot and bleeding in an alley, questioning his every decision that has gotten him to this point, when Molly Lachlan happens upon him. Despite his resistance, and her own fears, Molly insists on patching up her childhood neighbor. Chris might play the part of thug, but she knows there is so much more to him then his wicked reputation on the streets.

Throughout the story, I could never forget Chris' past actions from Dare to Run, and he never asks forgiveness for them. However, I found out while reading Dare to Stay, that there is infinitely more to Chris then that...can he ever find redemption? Chris' character was a true enigma. He was surprisingly sweet and romantic, more of these actions are revealed piece by piece as the story progresses, but he was also a stone-cone-killer and had no qualms about it. If it was down to him or the person shooting at him, he'll pick himself every time. Understandable, right? That doesn't mean that he doesn't feel remorse for his actions, and his life decisions. Especially when he realizes what he could have with Molly if he had picked a different path in life.

Already suffering from the grief and loss of losing someone to the gang's of Steel Row, Molly is reluctant to even form a friendship with Chris. Or anyone for that matter. Relationships mean a possibility a caring and losing another person, and she doesn't want to go through that heartache again. Even with all that though, she can't fight the pull between her and Chris. Their chemistry is tangible from the pages, and like I said, Chris really is a romantic guy so I was swooning right alongside Molly.

Molly struggles with her fear of Chris' lifestyle and occupation throughout most of the story. The angst kept me gripping the pages, fearing what might happen next. What other heartache awaits. The story ran me through the spectrum of emotions. Dare to Stay was an interesting story with intriguing characters, a fast-paced story-line, and a riveting plot. I would definitely suggest that you read the series in order, and as I have rated each book so far 4.5 wine glasses, it is worth it! Some strings were threaded together to form more of a tale for a secondary character, and I am really looking forward to the next book featuring him. All in all, another fantastic read from this talented author!



Suggested Reading Order:
Dare to Run (The Sons of Steel Row, #1) 


No comments: