Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Tuesday, August 30, 2016

3.5 Wine Glass #Review for Mad for the Plaid by Karen Hawkins




27409186Title:  Mad for the Plaid
Series:  The Oxenburg Princes   #3
Author:  Karen Hawkins
Format:  Paperback & eBook, 400pgs
Published:  Aug. 30, 2016 by Pocket Book
ASIN: B0176M3WYK
Links: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N
Source: Publisher
Reviewer:  Kimberly
Rating:  3.5 out of 5 Wine Glasses

The third captivating, sizzling Scottish historical romance in New York Times bestseller Karen Hawkins's Princes of Oxenburg series. Fans of Julia Quinn, Monica McCarty and Julie Garwood will be enchanted by this dazzling read.

Prince Nikolai Romanovin is bored out of his bejeweled crown with London's society scene. If he has to make inane small talk or dance with one more tongue-tied virgin, he might actually run off. So when he gets word his beloved grandmother might be in danger back in his homeland of Oxenburg, Nik is all too willing to rush to the estate she's been staying in in the snow-capped mountains of Scotland. Arriving in secret only to find his grandmother missing, Nik devises a plan to switch identities with a member of his honor guard so he can move around freely without the pomp and circumstance that comes with the Crown Prince title. He relishes the freedom that comes with losing his title, until he spots her...

While her five older sisters all enjoyed seasons, got married to men of high station, and had children of their own, Lyssa, the baby of the family, was left at home to be raised by her absent father and her sharp-witted, but ailing grandmother after losing her mother in childbirth. Now twenty-nine years old, the sole caretaker of her grandmother, and the entrenched mistress of the castle, Lyssa has resigned herself to living at the castle and enjoying the amusements offered - spending time with her grandmother, copious amounts of reading, wild rides through the moors, and the occasional ball in the local town. All in all, it's a satisfying, if sedate, life . . . But when she meets a guard more handsome, and far more arrogant and sure of himself than any man she's ever met, she's determined to figure out his secrets, no matter the cost.



Kimberly’s Thoughts:
Ailsa has been given the heavy responsibility of running her family's estate while her father is in London. Her youth and gender are against her but through her wits and determination, she is winning the people over. When two guests of hers get kidnapped, she feels personally responsible and wants to lead the charge to get them back.
Nik is a royal prince from Oxenburg and the heir; he has always known responsibility. When he learns that his beloved grandmother has been kidnapped he advises a way to personally go and rescue her.
Ailsa and Nik have a lot in common and sparks fly when they're together but their stubbornness might just keep them apart.

"Kisses are never to be regretted."

Third in the Oxenburg Princes series, we finally get to the future king's story, Nik. He has previously been shown to be stoic, impervious, and a bit of a playboy. Here we see that he has learned to wear many faces as he is consciously aware that the fate of his country and its people rests on his shoulders. The intrigues of constant maneuvering in the Oxenburg court, along with a betrayal in his youth, have made him build a wall around himself and his trust is hard won. I liked how the author showcased his character, whether he was made aware of his privileges by Ailsa, how much he took to heart his responsibilities, or the way Ailsa challenged him and intrigued him; he felt real. Ailsa's character also had wonderful depth, if not a bit side-eyeing with how she's in charge and traveling alone with a group of men. She wasn't feisty and head strong simply to relay "strength" but wonderfully smart, capable, and willing to listen. It was refreshing and delightful to have two characters that didn't vie to save or overtake one another but worked together.

Now, he found himself intrigued by a woman. Intrigued, challenged, and interested.

The story started off with a more gradual pace as the set-up builds and we learn the characters separately. If you're looking for an opposition to the many insta-love/lust stories out there, this is it. As our couple travels together, they slowly learn one another and we the reader begin to see how good they will be for another. Ailsa has one idea with how to deal with the kidnappers while Nik has another and through their individual directions we see how, even though both have dealt with responsibility, Nik's has been more worldly and Ailsa still has a bit of overly trusting to her. This comes into play with Nik pushing her away because he doesn't want to see her crushed by his courts devious maneuverings.

She'd never wanted a man before. Not in this way. But that first kiss had haunted her nights and ruled her days. He was just so damned delicious, and she'd never been able to turn away from a dessert.

This is mostly a road romance with our couple traveling to rescue the hostages with a bit of mystery added in as to why they were kidnapped and two secondary characters being played off one another for a possible secret villain. I didn't mind the slower pace as our couple got to know one another but I can see a few readers finding the middle a bit slow, the biggest problem I had with the story was the ending, it kind of fell apart. The villain didn't make a lot of sense, it seems they could have achieved what they wanted by staying loyal and the organization of the whole kidnapping had a lot of loose ends (reason for ransom note, the people who actually did the kidnapping - who and why were they helping). While I very much appreciated the slower building of Nik and Ailsa's relationship, I would have liked to have seen more passion from them towards the end but that could be my more fairy tale drama piece of heart talking. The two sex scenes felt rushed and it almost felt like Nik had to be bullied into the decision to be with Ailsa instead of coming to it on his own.

I felt this was the best book of the series with a hero who was handsomely stalwart and a heroine who beautifully showcased the calm strength of women. If looking to escape the abundant insta-love/lust out there, this would be a lovely slow burning choice.



Suggested Reading Order:


No comments: