Wednesday, August 23, 2017

5 Wine Glass #Audio #Review for Legion by Julie Kagawa

28821387Title: Legion
Series: The Talon Saga, Book #4
Author: Julie Kagawa
Narrator: Caitlin Davies , Tristan Morris ,MacLeod Andrews , Chris Patton
Format: Unabridged Audiobook, 11 hours and 48 minutes
Published: 25 April 2017 (Blackstone Audio, Inc.)
ISBN: ISBN-10: 1504777271
ISBN-13: 978-1504777278
Links: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | Audible 
Reviewer: Linda
Source: Audiobook Jukebox
Rating: 5 out of 5 Wine Glasses

The legions are about to be unleashed, and no human, rogue dragon or former dragon slayer can stand against the coming horde. Book 4 of 5 in The Talon Saga from New York Times bestselling author Julie Kagawa.

Dragon hatchling Ember Hill was never prepared to find love at all--dragons do not suffer human emotions--let alone the love of a human and a former dragonslayer, at that. With ex-soldier Garret dying at her feet after sacrificing his freedom and his life to expose the deepest of betrayals, Ember knows only that nothing she was taught by dragon organization Talon is true. About humans, about rogue dragons, about herself and what she's capable of doing and feeling.

In the face of great loss, Ember vows to stand with rogue dragon Riley against the dragon-slaying Order of St. George and her own twin brother Dante--the heir apparent to all of Talon, and the boy who will soon unleash the greatest threat and terror dragonkind has ever known.

Talon is poised to take over the world, and the abominations they have created will soon take to the skies, darkening the world with the promise of blood and death to those who refuse to yield.

Linda's Thoughts:
“Godzilla was coming...” 

Legion by Julie Kagawa is the fourth installment in the author’s fantastic Talon paranormal urban fantasy series featuring dragons and dragon slayers. OMG a hundred times over! The story is action-packed, fast-paced, emotional, gripping, shocking, exciting perfection! It is thrilling to the point of being heart-stopping. As in the previous books, Legion is told from the multiple points-of-view of the primary characters allowing readers to become one with the thoughts of each.

This is a series that absolutely must be read in order. There’s been so much character and relationship development and detailed build-up for the grand finale that anyone jumping into the series out-of-order would either be lost or not appreciate the exquisiteness of the Talon Saga. Do yourself a huge favor and enjoy this series in order. You won’t regret it!

Thankfully, the love triangle that encompassed the first three books has been mostly resolved. Ember has made her choice.

The Talon organization is horrible and Dante, Ember’s brother, has been wholly brain-washed by his absolute need to be in control. His allegiance is to the order … period. Will Ember survive? AND, IF she does, will she write her brother off as a lost cause? One thing is for sure. The two dragon twins have drastically opposite moral compasses and sacrifices will unquestionably need to be made.

Following please find a few of my favorite quotes from Legion:

“If I was in Talon, I would be the one in charge, I'd be the one calling the shots. I wouldn't have to take pointless exams, listen to humans or worry that my every move was being watched. In Talon, dragons were the bosses, the presidents, the CEOs. If I was a part of the organization, no one would tell me what to do ever again.

I would have to let some things go. I t might be painful, but in the end, it would be worth it. Sacrifice was necessary, but I would be free.” 

 “I've been told that there's a point in every soldier's life when he knows he's going to die. You expect it, of course, in every battle, every ambush, every enemy engagement. You are aware that this could be it. This could be the one that ends your life. But, there's a difference between being aware that you could die, and knowing beyond a doubt, when the situation is hopeless. New dragons dropped from the sky in a dark mass...” 

“You can't be completely in love with a dragon and expect anything to be normal.” 

“Without St. George,  that balance would tip. Without the Order, there would be nothing to stop Talon and the Elder Wyrm from achieving what they wanted from the start: complete and utter dominion.” 

“Get some sleep, soldier boy.” 

I listened to the audio edition as I have with all of the prior books. I cannot imagine doing anything other than listening to this series as the audios have undeniably enhanced my enjoyment of the series bringing Julie’s amazing story to life. The series started out with three narrators. Tristan joined the original three for the second book. The resulting foursome have been together for the last three books. I really like the multiple narrators for this series. They mesh seamlessly and it is a natural discernment between which character is speaking at any one time. Just know that this tale is an extraordinary stomach-clencher! I actually had to stop the audio numerous times solely to remind myself to breathe.

This series gets better with every book and, since every book has been a five star read for me, that’s more than awesome! I love, love, love this series and can’t wait for the finale! While Legion ends with a bit of a cliffhanger as war IS coming, it’s not the type of cliffhanger that is gut-wrenching as Soldier’s was. Thank you, Julie!

The concluding book, Legion, features blood red scales on the cover and releases Spring 2018. This series would decidedly equate to a phenomenal movie experience on the big screen. Keeping my fingers crossed that happens!

Suggested Reading Order: 
Talon (Book #1)
Rogue (Book #2)
Soldier (Book #3)
Legion (Book #4)
Inferno (Book #5) - Expected publication Spring 2018!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Due to time constraints we may not be able to personally respond to every comment made, but we do read and appreciate them all. 📚❤️🙂

✋ RBtWBC has a zero-tolerance policy for review harassment and author bashing. Such comments will be deleted at the the blog's discretion.