Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Friday, January 6, 2017

4.5 Wine Glass #Review for I See You by Molly McAdams




28959365Title: I See You
Author: Molly McAdams
Format: ebook, 352 pages
Published: November 1st 2016 by William Morrow Paperbacks
ISBN: 0062442678
Links: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N
Source: edelweiss
Reviewer: Crystal
Rating: 4.5 out of 5 Wine Glasses

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Molly McAdams’ powerful new novel offers one of the most memorable love triangles in fiction since Twilight—perfect for fans of New Adult fiction like Jamie McGuire, Abbi Glines, and Tamarra Webber.

Futures are uncertain, unpredictable—like ink spilled across the purest surface. Nearly imperceptible ripples move and flow until a unique stain is formed. The ink is permanently embedded in the surface…

During one wild night in college, Jentry Michaels is a tidal wave of ink that brands Aurora Wilde’s soul. An unparalleled stain she can’t forget despite the many months that have passed—and despite the distraction she’d hoped she would find in her new relationship with Declan, the charmer who captured her heart soon after. Jentry has irrevocably touched her soul, and he is intertwined in her present and future in ways she never fathomed. Now Aurora is faced with keeping that night hidden though it feels as if the ink has indelibly etched their story across her skin.

When Declan is confronted with his own personal demons, Aurora must decide if she will continue to hold tight to their relationship and a safe, reliable future with him, or if she will turn to Jentry—the guy she can’t forget no matter how hard she tries.…


Crystal's Thoughts:
Molly McAdams has the unique ability to slay me every time I read a book from her. If I was a vampire, (depending on which myths you believe, of course) I would be dead, because every story she weaves is filled with such extravasating emotion, it's like a stake to the heart.

I See You begins when Aurora, a.k.a. Rorie, attends a college party and shares an unforgettable night with a dark and sexy stranger. She returns later because she can't get that stranger out of her head, but instead of finding him, she instead meets the irresistibly charming Declan. Fast forward thirteen months and Declan and Rorie are moving in together, and despite Declan's controlling mother, Rorie is happy and looking forward to a future together. All of that comes crashing down though when Rorie is introduced to Declan's adopted brother, Jentry....the same man she spent that monumental night with almost a year ago. Torn between confessing her secret to Declan and hiding the truth, Rorie also struggles with the guilt of remembering every second of her time with Jentry....

Bursting with angst and drama on ever page, along with an irresistible amount of passion and desire, I See You is another spellbinding addition to Molly McAdams' repertoire of must-read novels. Rorie and Jentry share an undeniable chemistry and a soul-touching connection. But Rorie and Declan have a deep love and affection for each other, as well as a planned future path. Declan is a sure, comfortable presence, where as Jentry, while thrilling , is an unknown. Their story unfolds page by breath-taking page. During the first half of the book, the story-line jumps in time. Ranging from past, present, two months ago... until about half way in where we stay firmly in present time. The timing was a little difficult to keep straight, but there is a reason for this, and the understanding is later revealed.

Well-timed twists and the beautifully flowing writing in McAdam's signature, poetic style, kept me on edge throughout. I was rooting for Jentry from the start, but you can't deny Declan's love and dedication to Rorie either. This is not your typical love triangle, and if you have read any of McAdams' books before, then you know what I am referring to. ☺ For those who haven't though, in I See You, the story is told from Jentry's and Aurora's point-of-view, so you feel more a connection to them despite not being the central couple at first, then you might with Declan and his relationship with Rorie.

The one thing that I did not enjoy about the story was how much of a doormat Aurora was when it came to Declan's mother, Linda. That women tore her down, and Rorie just sat there and allowed it. I could never bring myself to like her, even at the end. Another character I had a hard time liking was Rorie's best friend. She seemed very judgmental and condescending for such a seemingly close friend.

Bottom line though, I See You is an emotionally eclipsing tale that will have you teary eyed and smiling by the end. This is not a story to be missed!

No comments: