Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Monday, April 30, 2018

3.5 Wine Glass ARC #Review of Fatal Throne by Candace Fleming, M.T. Anderson, Jennifer Donnelly, Stephanie Hemphill, Deborah Hopkinson, Linda Sue Park, Lisa Ann Sandell





Title: Fatal Throne
Authors:  Candace Fleming, M.T. Anderson, Jennifer Donnelly, Stephanie Hemphill, Deborah Hopkinson, Linda Sue Park, Lisa Ann Sandell


9781524716196
Links: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N
Reviewer: Lexi
Source: Publisher
Rating: 3.5 out of 5 Wine Glasses

The tragic lives of Henry VIII and his six wives are reimagined by seven acclaimed and bestselling authors in this riveting novel, perfect for fans of Wolf Hall and Netflix's The Crown.

He was King Henry VIII, a charismatic and extravagant ruler obsessed with both his power as king and with siring a male heir. They were his queens --six ill-fated women, each bound for divorce, or beheading, or death.Watch spellbound as each of Henry's wives attempts to survive their unpredictable king and his power-hungry court. See the sword flash as fiery Anne Boleyn is beheaded for adultery. Follow Jane Seymour as she rises from bullied court maiden to beloved queen, only to die after giving birth. Feel Catherine Howard's terror as old lovers resurface and whisper vicious rumors to Henry's influential advisors. Experience the heartache of mothers as they lose son after son, heir after heir. Told in stirring first-person accounts, Fatal Throne is at once provocative and heartbreaking, an epic tale that is also an intimate look at the royalty of the most perilous times in English history. 


WHO'S WHO:

*M. T. Anderson - Henry VIII
*Candace Fleming - Katharine of Aragon
*Stephanie Hemphill - Anne Boleyn
*Lisa Ann Sandell - Jane Seymour
*Jennifer Donnelly - Anna of Cleves
*Linda Sue Park - Catherine Howard
*Deborah Hopkinson - Kateryn Parr



ABOUT THE AUTHORS:
M. T. Anderson is the author of Feed, winner of the LA Times Book Prize, and The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing, winner of the National Book Award, the Boston Globe-Horn Book Award, and a Printz Honor.

Jennifer Donnelly is the author of These Shallow Graves, Revolution, and A Northern Light, winner of the Carnegie Medal, the LA Times Book Prize, and a Printz Honor.

Candace Fleming is the author of The Family Romanov, winner of the LA Times Book Prize and the Boston Globe-Horn Book Award; Amelia Lost; and The Lincolns.

Stephanie Hemphill is the author of Your Own, Sylvia, a Printz Honor winner, and Wicked Girls, an LA Times Book Prize Finalist.

Deborah Hopkinson is the author of Titanic: Voices from the Disaster, a Robert F. Sibert Honor Book and an ALA-YALSA Excellence in Nonfiction Award Finalist.

Linda Sue Park is the author of A Single Shard, winner of the Newbery Medal, and the bestselling A Long Walk to Water.

Lisa Ann Sandell is the author of A Map of the Known World, Song of the Sparrow, and The Weight of the Sky. Residence: New York, NY



Lexi's Thoughts:
With the royal wedding looming, all thoughts are turning to England's royalty. So the timing of Fatal Throne is a perfect fix for your King and Queen gossip. Because no one else had as much gossip as Henry the VIII.
Fatal Throne is split up into different POVs. Each author writes one of Henry's wives voices and one even gives us the King's perspective. The chapters are quick reads and well written. 
I enjoyed Henry's insertions that follow each of the women's. He loved each of them differently...and he was so arrogant. That character description really stood out. The blame could always be laid at the feet of someone else. He's such a deplorable character and you want to keep reading and find out if he shows any remorse.
Though the content wasn't anything new, each of the author's did a wonderful job of personalizing the wives. You connect with their hopes and dreams and you are saddened by their tears and everything they lose. These women loved Henry, some wanted things from him, but you really get a sense of love from them. 
Fatal Throne doesn't have any huge revelations but with Price Harry and Meghan Markle's wedding, you will certainly find it touching.



No comments: