Tuesday, January 31, 2023

#Spotlight on Sorry, Bro by Taleen Voskuni


After breaking up with her tech-bro boyfriend, Nar is thrown into San Francisco’s Armenia social scene by her meddlesome mother who is determined to find her a husband. But there’s one teeny problem: Nar’s not exactly out as bisexual and definitely not interested in finding a husband. Enter Erebunie—a woman equally immersed in the witchy arts as she is in preserving Armenian identity—who Nar is instantly drawn to. Eventually Nar’s worlds collide, but she is determined to claim her happiness: proudly Armenian, proudly bisexual, and proudly herself for the first time. Sorry, Bro is Available Now!




About the Book


Sorry, Bro
By Taleen Voskuni
Format: 352 pages, Paperback
Published: January 31, 2023 by Berkley
ISBN: 9780593547304
An Armenian-American woman rediscovers her roots and embraces who she really is in this vibrant and heartfelt queer rom-com by debut author Taleen Voskuni.

When Nar’s non-Armenian boyfriend gets down on one knee and proposes to her in front of a room full of drunk San Francisco tech boys, she realizes it’s time to find someone who shares her idea of romance.
Enter her mother: armed with plenty of mom-guilt and a spreadsheet of Facebook-stalked Armenian men, she convinces Nar to attend Explore Armenia, a month-long series of events in the city. But it’s not the mom-approved playboy doctor or wealthy engineer who catches her eye—it’s Erebuni, a woman as equally immersed in the witchy arts as she is in preserving Armenian identity. Suddenly, with Erebuni as her wingwoman, the events feel like far less of a chore, and much more of an adventure. Who knew cooking up kuftes together could be so . . . sexy?

Erebuni helps Nar see the beauty of their shared culture and makes her feel understood in a way she never has before. But there’s one teeny problem: Nar’s not exactly out as bisexual. The clock is ticking on Nar’s double life, though—the closing event banquet is coming up, and her entire extended family will be there, along with Erebuni. Her worlds will inevitably collide, but Nar is determined to be brave, determined to claim her happiness: proudly Armenian, proudly bisexual, and proudly herself for the first time in her life.

Monday, January 30, 2023

Read an #Excerpt from The Davenports by Krystal Marquis


Debut author Krystal Marquis transports readers to opulent 1910s Chicago in THE DAVENPORTS,  the first book in an enthralling duology that interweaves romance, heartbreak, and courage, experienced through the lens of the early 20th century and four distinct perspectives. Olivia, Helen, Amy Rose, and Ruby bring readers along for the ride as they navigate the intricacies of love for the first time. Marquis’ dynamic Black heroines and their romantic adventures—inspired by the family of automobile magnate C.R. Patterson, and the flourishing of Black excellence in the 1900s—are perfect for fans of Jasmine Guillory. 




About the Book


The Davenports
 The Davenports #1
By Krystal Marquis
Format: 384 pages, Hardcover
Published: January 31, 2023 by Dial Books
ISBN: 9780593463338
The Davenports delivers a totally escapist, swoon-worthy romance while offering a glimpse into a period of African American history often overlooked.

The Davenports are one of the few Black families of immense wealth and status in a changing United States, their fortune made through the entrepreneurship of William Davenport, a formerly enslaved man who founded the Davenport Carriage Company years ago. Now it's 1910, and the Davenports live surrounded by servants, crystal chandeliers, and endless parties, finding their way and finding love—even where they’re not supposed to.

There is Olivia, the beautiful elder Davenport daughter, ready to do her duty by getting married . . . until she meets the charismatic civil rights leader Washington DeWight and sparks fly. The younger daughter, Helen, is more interested in fixing cars than falling in love—unless it’s with her sister’s suitor. Amy-Rose, the childhood friend turned maid to the Davenport sisters, dreams of opening her own business—and marrying the one man she could never be with, Olivia and Helen’s brother, John. But Olivia’s best friend, Ruby, also has her sights set on John Davenport, though she can’t seem to keep his interest . . . until family pressure has her scheming to win his heart, just as someone else wins hers.

Inspired by the real-life story of the Patterson family, The Davenports is the tale of four determined and passionate young Black women discovering the courage to steer their own path in life—and love.

Tuesday, January 24, 2023

#Giveaway of The Fraud Squad by Kyla Zhao

In THE FRAUD SQUAD, a working-class woman infiltrates Singapore's high society to fulfill her dreams. But as she gets deeper into this glittering world, she gets closer and closer to losing who she really is. Grab The Fraud Squad by Kyla Zhao on Amazon today! 




About the Book


The Fraud Squad
by Kyla Zhao

Format: 368 pages, Paperback
Published: January 17, 2023 by Berkley Books
ISBN: 9780593546130 
For as long as she can remember, Samantha Song has dreamed of writing for a high-society magazine—and she’d do anything to get there. But the constant struggle to help her mom make ends meet and her low social status cause her dream to feel like a distant fantasy.

Now Samantha finds herself working at a drab PR firm. Living vicariously through her wealthy coworker and friend, Anya Chen, is the closest she’ll get to her ideal life. Until she meets Timothy Kingston: the disillusioned son of one of Singapore’s elite families—and Samantha’s one chance at infiltrating the high-society world to which she desperately wants to belong.

To Samantha’s surprise, Timothy and Anya both agree to help her make a name for herself on Singapore’s socialite scene. But the borrowed designer clothes and plus-ones to every glamorous event can only get her so far. The rest is on Samantha, and she’s determined to impress the editor in chief of Singapore’s poshest magazine. But the deeper Samantha wades into this fraud, the more she fears being exposed—especially with a mysterious gossip columnist on the prowl for dirt—forcing her to reconcile her pretense with who she really is before she loses it all.


Monday, January 23, 2023

#Giveaway of The Minuscule Mansion of Myra Malone by Audrey Burges

Audrey Burges’ enchanting and unforgettable book, THE MINUSCULE MANSION OF MYRA MALONE  is available nowPerfect for fans of books with a touch of magical realism, like Natalie Tan's Book of Luck and Fortune by Roselle Lim, and The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake by Aimee Bender. 




About the Book


The Minuscule Mansion of Myra Malone
by Audrey Burges

Format: 352 pages, Paperback
Expected publication: January 24, 2023 by Berkley
ISBN: 9780593546475 
A woman learns to expand the boundaries of her small world and let love inside it in this sparkling and unforgettable novel by Audrey Burges.

From her attic in the Arizona mountains, thirty-four-year-old Myra Malone blogs about a dollhouse mansion that captivates thousands of readers worldwide. Myra’s stories have created legions of fans who breathlessly await every blog post, trade photographs of Mansion-modeled rooms, and swap theories about the enigmatic and reclusive author. Myra herself is tethered to the Mansion by mysteries she can’t understand—rooms that appear and disappear overnight, music that plays in its corridors.

Across the country, Alex Rakes, the scion of a custom furniture business, encounters two Mansion fans trying to recreate a room. The pair show him the Minuscule Mansion, and Alex is shocked to recognize a reflection of his own life mirrored back to him in minute scale. The room is his own bedroom, and the Mansion is his family’s home, handed down from the grandmother who disappeared mysteriously when Alex was a child. Searching for answers, Alex begins corresponding with Myra. Together, the two unwind the lonely paths of their twin worlds—big and small—and trace the stories that entwine them, setting the stage for a meeting rooted in loss, but defined by love.

Tuesday, January 3, 2023

Happy #BookBirthday to ‎A Vampire's Kiss by Rebecca Zanetti


A Vampire’s Kiss, a sexy, action-packed, fated mates, paranormal romance from New York Times bestselling author Rebecca Zanetti, is now available!




About the Book


A Vampire's Kiss
(Dark Protectors #14.5)
by Rebecca Zanetti 

Kindle Edition, 1st edition, 136 pages
Published January 3rd 2023 by 1001 Dark Nights Press
ASINB09NLHL77C
From New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Rebecca Zanetti comes a new story in her Dark Protectors/Rebels series…

Unlike several of his brothers, Athan Maxwell accepted the curse inherent in his DNA and solved the problem a century ago by mating his one true mate and saving her life at the same time. Now they only meet up four times a year to exchange blood and keep themselves healthy because that was the deal. Yet after a hundred years, his mate has only become more beguiling and intriguing, and when he discovers a new threat on her tail, his promise of sitting back and leaving her alone goes right out of the window.

Ivy O’Dwyer has enjoyed the last century as an immortal being, evolving from being a farmer’s daughter to the successful CEO of an Internet company. Sure, life gets lonely without the chance to date, and yes, she’s grateful to her vampire mate for saving her life so long ago, and yet the dreams she has of the sexy male won’t desert her. So when he storms in to save her life, in all vampire-possessive mode, it’s difficult to stand her ground. Unfortunately, when they finally discover that living forever but alone isn’t worth it, it might be too late.

**Every 1001 Dark Nights novella is a standalone story. For new readers, it’s an introduction to an author’s world. And for fans, it’s a bonus book in the author’s series. We hope you'll enjoy each one as much as we do.**


Friday, December 30, 2022

🍷🍷🍷🍷.5 #Review of The Liar’s Crown by Abigail Owen

 


Title: The Liar’s Crown
Series: Dominions #1
Author: Abigail Owen
Format: eBook, 448 pages
Published: August 30th 2022 by Entangled: Teen
ISBN: 1649371527
Links: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N
Source: Netgalley
Reviewer: Crystal
Rating: 
🍷🍷🍷🍷.5
Some shadows protect you…others will kill you in this dazzling new fantasy series from award-winning author Abigail Owen.

Everything about my life is a lie. As a hidden twin princess, born second, I have only one purpose—to sacrifice my life for my sister if death comes for her. I’ve been living under the guise of a poor, obscure girl of no standing, slipping into the palace and into the role of the true princess when danger is present.
Now the queen is dead and the ageless King Eidolon has sent my sister a gift—an eerily familiar gift—and a proposal to wed. I don’t trust him, so I do what I was born to do and secretly take her place on the eve of the coronation. Which is why, when a figure made of shadow kidnaps the new queen, he gets me by mistake.

As I try to escape, all the lies start to unravel. And not just my lies. The Shadowraith who took me has secrets of his own. He struggles to contain the shadows he wields—other faces, identities that threaten my very life.

Winter is at the walls. Darkness is looming. And the only way to save my sister and our dominion is to kill Eidolon…and the Shadowraith who has stolen my heart. 



Crystal's Thoughts-


The Liar’s Crown is the first book in a new high fantasy, upper ya, romance series from author Abigail Owen. I adored this author's Inferno Rising (adult paranormal romance) series so when I saw this book in a promo from Entangled I had to know more!