Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Wednesday, March 20, 2019

3 Wine Glass #Review of The Woman in the Dark by Vanessa Savage

 



40965093Title:  The Woman in the Dark
Author: Vanessa Savage
Format: Hardcover, 352 pages
Publication: Mar. 12th 2019 by Grand Central Publishing
ISBN-13: 978-1538714294
Links: Goodreads | Amazon |B&N
Source: Publisher
Reviewer: Kimberly
Rating: 3 out of 5 Wine Glasses

A chilling psychological thriller about dark family dysfunction and the secrets that haunt us - perfect for fans of BEHIND CLOSED DOORS and THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR.

For Sarah and Patrick, family life has always been easy. But when Sarah's mother dies, it sends Sarah into a downwards spiral. Knowing they need a fresh start, Patrick moves the family to the beachside house he grew up in.

But there is a catch: while their new home carries only happy memories for Patrick, to everyone else it's known as the Murder House - named for the family that was killed there.

Patrick is adamant they can make it perfect again, though with their children plagued by nightmares and a constant sense they're being watched, Sarah's not so sure. Because the longer they live in their 'dream home', the more different her loving husband becomes . . .



Kimberly's Thoughts:
He sees the beautiful Victorian house he grew up in, with its pitched roof and gabled ends---a fairy-tale house before it became the county House of Horrors. He sees happy memories of a childhood lived by the sea. He doesn't imagine blood on the walls or whispering ghosts. He doesn't see the Murder House, but I do.

Read an #Excerpt from From Breath and Ruin by Carrie Ann Ryan




43800567From Breath and Ruin
(Elements of Five #1)
by Carrie Ann Ryan 
Kindle Edition
Expected publication: March 19th 2019 by Carrie Ann Ryan
ASINB07JH1QDCF
In her YA debut, New York Times bestselling author Carrie Ann Ryan dives into a world with magic and sacrifice with the Elements of Five.

Five hundred years ago, the Maison Realm was shattered, divided into warring kingdoms of elemental Wielders with fate and truth shadowed and uncertain. Now, factions of both the light and dark venture into the human realm in search of the prophesied Spirit Priestess who is said to Wield the Elements of Five to bring the two fractured kingdoms together.

Lyric has no idea that there's a realm outside the human one she lives in. When fate and circumstances are pulled from her hands after an accident, she finds out that nothing is as it seems.

War is raging around her, and when Lyric realizes that they are searching for her, she must rely on those she once trusted as she trains: a boy who isn't who she thought, and a new realm of warriors who have come to protect her.

For the darkness is coming, and the Queen of Obscurité wants to ensure that the King of Lumière can't get his hands on Lyric. And the only way to ensure that is if Lyric herself is no more...no matter the cost to prophecy.


Tuesday, March 19, 2019

5 Wine Glass #Review of Back to You by Kimberly Kincaid

 



42920681Title: Back To You
Series: Remington Medical #1
Author: Kimberly Kincaid
Format: Kindle Edition, 321 pages
Published: February 12th 2019 by Kimberly Kincaid Romance, LLC
ISBN: ASIN B07KRHTSBJ
LinksGoodreads | Amazon | B&N
Reviewer: Linda
Source: Author
Rating: 5 out of 5 Wine Glasses

His second chance is his only chance

Parker Drake wants exactly one thing—to fulfill his dream of becoming a doctor. Between his reputation as a rule-breaker and the six years that have passed since his first internship ended in disaster, he knows he’s only getting one shot at a second chance. He’ll do anything to put the past behind him and reach his goal…including work with the gorgeous ex-wife he’s never gotten over losing.

All work and no play make surgeon Charleston Becker a very happy woman. But when she’s tasked with mentoring her ex-husband through his second chance as an intern, her signature calm is put to the test. She’s not interested in re-hashing the heartbreaking circumstances that ended their marriage, and the six years that have passed haven’t made Parker less reckless. The last thing she’s willing to do is trust him—even if she does find him sexier than ever.

But familiarity breeds forgiveness, which then becomes a passion that threatens the careers Parker and Charlie have worked for. Can they turn their second chance into a happy ending? Or is history bound to repeat itself? 



Linda's Thoughts:
“No matter what, I’ll always come back to you.”

Happy #BookBirthday to The Hookup Handbook by Kendall Ryan




40058919The Hookup Handbook
(Escorts, Inc. #2)
by Kendall Ryan
Expected publication: March 19th 2019 by Kendall Ryan
My love wand is on a strike.

As bad as that blows, pun unintended, it’s ten times worse for me. I’m a male escort, but not just any escort, I’m the escort. The one with a mile-long waiting list and a pristine reputation that’s very well-deserved.

Only now, I’m on hiatus. Because after years of pleasing women all over the city, my man missile decides to get finicky. And the only woman he wants? Someone I can never have—my best friend’s younger sister, the nerdy and awkwardly adorable Sienna.

She’s working at the agency this summer, keeping me organized, handling paperwork, and most importantly, keeping me on track to finish writing my book about sex and intimacy, which is due to my publisher in thirty days.

She thinks I hate her, that I don’t want her here. The truth is much more twisted. I get hard every time she walks into my office. Her wide blue eyes and pouty mouth drive me wild with desire, and if she stays, I’m not sure how much longer I can stay away from her.

Little Miss Overachiever says she’s here to help? Fine. I’m going to put her nerdy, curvy tush to work. 


Monday, March 18, 2019

3.5 Wine Glass #Review of Stroke of Luck by B.J. Daniels

 



40142479Title: Stroke of Luck
Series: Sterling’s Montana #1
Author: B.J. Daniels
Format: Kindle Edition, 384 pages
Published: February 19th 2019 by HQN Books
ISBN: ASIN B07K1CSLB1
Links: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N
Reviewer: Linda
Source: NetGalley
Rating: 3 1/2 out of 5 Wine Glasses

He's hoping to bury the past. She's ready to settle the score.

The Sterling Ranch's season opening isn't going so smoothly. With the ranch's lodge full of guests and a Montana blizzard threatening, Will Sterling needs help--and he needs it fast. So when his childhood friend Poppy Carmichael agrees to lend a hand, he's grateful for a second chance...and more enticed by the woman she's become than he cares to admit.

For Poppy, it was supposed to be a retreat full of horse rides and hoedowns--with a side of showing Will what he's been missing all these years. But as the snow deepens outside, the guests' suspicion and mistrust turn sinister inside, catching Will and Poppy in the crosshairs.

Weathering the storm in each other's arms is all too easy for Will and Poppy, but will a confrontation with a killer mean their reunion is short-lived?New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author B.J. Daniels starts her Sterling's Ranch series off with a bang in this suspenseful story of romance and revenge.



Your Thoughts:
If he’d forgotten that shy twelve-year-old whose heart he’d broken, well, she’d be happy to remind him.

Why Sports Heroes Make the Best Book Boyfriends by Rachel Van Dyken of Risky Play + #Giveaway




Why Sports Heroes Make the Best Book Boyfriends by Rachel Van Dyken



Hey everyone! I’m Rachel Van Dyken, author of over eighty (holy crap) books in multiple genres, one of my favorites being, sports romance! My latest book, Risky Play, is about two broken main characters who find themselves on a last minute holiday to Puerto Vallarta.

Pro Soccer player Slade Rodriguez is trying to lay low after finding out his girlfriend and his ex teammate hooked up behind his back, for over a year. Licking his wounds he changes teams and moves to Seattle, but isn’t ready to settle down yet. Needing time to himself, he gets on the first jet out. He sits next to Mackenzie Dupont on a plane and is immediately intrigued, especially since a few hours into the plane ride, they have single engine failure. She asks him what one thing he would do different. And they kiss. Once the plane safely lands, to protect his own identity, he gives her a fake name, Hugo. What he doesn’t realize is she’s famous in her own right, so she does the same thing. After all, she’s running away from a broken engagement. What follows is a whole lot of steaminess and taking chances with a complete stranger assuming that it’s just that, a one night stand, a two night stand. Whatever it is, Mackenzie's obsessed with "Hugo's" intense golden gaze, the eight pack helps, and the fact that he seems genuinely interested in everything she says. He promises the universe he’s going to keep her, but sometimes the universe is against us. Tragedy strikes and they go their separate ways only to meet again in Seattle, this time, sparks fly and not the good kind The "I want to kiss you, then strangle you, then kiss you again" kind.